La Donuteria, Doughnuts, Sant Antoni

La DonuteriaAsk me if I want a macaroon?
“Do you want a macaroon?”
“No.”
“Cupcake?”
“Nope.”
“Doughnut?”
“Doughnut? Yes!”Donuts, La DonuteriaYes, I do. I loveDoughnut. La Donuteria makes superlative donuts. Light and chewy brioche with unusual toppings. I tried the cherry and yuzu with a crown of mini meringues (€3.50). I ate the whole thing and contemplated trying another before coming to my senses. Instead I bought a chocolate glazed, chocolate cream filled donut with a fingernail of gold leaf at its apex and a chocolate dough one and had them packed in a box to take home to my kids.  The menu at La DonuteriaAs a family, we pronounced them the best doughnuts we’ve tasted. When I start chatting with Richard Bies, it becomes obvious why they are this good.  Because he has taken more than a decade of working at places like Eleven Madison Park, Mandarin Oriental Barcelona and Escriba and started making doughnuts the only way he knows how.  Perfectly.Richard Bies making me a coffeeMeanwhile I am beginning to suffer from neighborhood envy. The residents of Sant Antoni now have their pick of Cafe Cometa (right next door), Bar Calders, Tarrana, Federal and the ultimate will be when the Sant Antoni market reopens next year.

La Donuteria
C Parlament, 20.
Sant Antoni
www.ladonuteria.com
www.facebook.com/LaDonuteria

8 Responses to La Donuteria, Doughnuts, Sant Antoni

  1. Sylee says:

    You’re on fire! I need to book a flight.

  2. Giulia says:

    Next time you’re in town I’ll take you to Suzy Q!

  3. Spanrev says:

    Yes, i need to check this next time in town 🙂

  4. Great place!! I love donuts!! 😉

  5. Bipasha says:

    That giant donut! I’ll take three, please 😀

Leave a comment